Searching For Sunset

A few days ago I headed out to enjoy and photograph the sunset. My first stop was Rosario Head at Deception Pass State Park, but there wasn’t a composition that caught my eye. Next, I headed to the top of Mount Erie, the highest point on Fidalgo Island. The main view from the top is towards the east and the south and the hazy sky didn’t have much color.

My last stop was just below the top of Mount Erie on a small point overlooking the San Juan Islands. This was it!!. The sun setting just above eight or nine of the San Juan Islands.

2 thoughts on “Searching For Sunset

  1. Tad:

    You ’nailed’ it!

    I always find it a challenge to get the exposure just right, as the sunset event and perfect timing is so fleeting. Getting at least some detail in the foreground is desired, but capturing the colors of the event itself is the key.

    You’ve done all of that in a composition that’s amazing. I particularly love the sheen on the water around the land which adds to the drama of the shot.

    Well Done!

    Dave

    >

    • Thanks Dave!! I did use a 2 Stop Graduated Neutral Density filter better balance the exposure between the sky and water. Sunsets are notorious for the sky being significantly brighter than other elements. Combining that with highlight reduction and shadow enhancement in Lightroom also helped.

Leave a comment